Race Report

June 5, 2005 - Week 6

The first of our two Prudential Cup Series / Nutmeg BMX State Series Double Points races took place on June 5th under sunny skies with no forecast of rain. With temps topping out in the upper eighties, the hot weather promised some hot racing action. An incredible rider count of 287 was on hand and split into 70 motos, 2 semis and 15 main events.

Starting with the 5 & under Rookie class, eight riders caused the need for a main in this moto-mite division. Matt Valardi was perfect in his motos but could only muster a 3rd in the main as George Pasterok was in the right place at the right place at the right time for the win.

The 6 year olds also had a main and Tyler Bluestein was absolutely dominate all day long with wins every time on the track including the Main.

Josh Valardi won 7 Rookie. Another Main event was needed in 8 Rookie and it was showdown time between Keith Morrisey and the Fusco’s Used Auto Parts sponsored Chris Pannullo. At the stripe it was Morrisey prevailing.

Another Main event in 9 Rookie with Matt Mitchell and Don Olson finishing 1-2. In 10 Rookie yet another main and Dylan Jacquemin was the top dog in that one.

Only three 11 year old Rookies were on hand and Jared Marchell put his South Valley Auto sponsored ride in the winners circle.

12 year old Anthony Reilly (The Candy-Man) won 12 Rookie for his sponsor Schweigers’s Tile & Flooring and Roberto Alicea won two of three motos for the overall win in 13 Rookie.

The 14 Rookie class had a Main and Martin Brown, riding for ERA II won every moto plus the main.

The biggest class of the day was the 15 Rookie class with 13 riders entered causing, not only the need for a Main, but semis were needed to get to the final 8 riders. When the dust settled it was Rob Zuffellato, riding under the tye-dye colors of team Real-Deal, capturing the win.

Josh Brown won 16 Rookie and the Legion-of-doom group (17 Rookie) was won by Matt Lucas.

Novice action was equally exciting starting with Casey Tanner’s win in 6-7 Novice combined.

Zak Brown was perfect in 8 Nov while Chris Tallberg won the 9 Novice class.

Dustin Belmonte with a brand new sponsor (Amano’s Pizza) won 10 Nov.

Ryan Sambells-Greco won the 11 Novice gang and D.J. Hall’s Mike Borla stole the Main in 12 Novice after both Kyle Strong and Jeff Croshier were perfect in the motos.

Logan Mitchell won the 13 Novice class riding for his new sponsor, RC Hobbies.

Only one 14 Novice was on hand (Dan Krouse) so he was combined with the 14 Expert gang. Dan held his own and got some experience that will undoubtedly help him down the road but he could only shake the hand of the eventual winner, Jason Bush, as he edged out Justin Markie for the win.

“The Quiet Zone’s” Aaron Testa was the top 15 Novice and Hector Gonzales won 16 Novice action for the New Britain BMX Club. Pat Churchell won 16 Novice and an Ill feeling Bryn Bowen managed to capture the win in 17, 18-20 Expert / Novice combined.

The Experts were as smooth as ever over the hard packed, extremely fast surface with National Champion Zac O’Neil winning 8 Ex.

9 year old expert Nick Perry was the winner of his class. The 10 ex class were very evenly matched as 3 of the 4 riders entered each won a moto. Kyle Block, the defending rider of the year, edged out the competition.

Former National Champ Jake Enriquez won the 11 ex grouping while the Thomas E. Arnold sponsored Paul Maher won 12 Ex.

Team Graffiti’s Mike Cambbell won 13 ex and Rolling Thunder, Allen Currier, held off the Casa Mia Restaurant sponsored Pete Balotti for the win in 15 expert.

Matt Markie won the 18-21 group; Chris De Amelio won 30-34 and Mike Savage won 35 & over.

46 Cruisers were registered and that action was also hot on the 24 inch machines. Austin Vincent only won one of his motos but his consistency was enough to eke out a win in 9 & Under.

Dylan Perez won the 10-11 class and Make Campbell was the winner in 12-13 action. Pete Balotti won 14-15; Rafael Jimenez won 18-21; Don Olson captured 30-34 and former world champ, Mike Savage, won 35-39.

Brian Mcinnis put the smack down on Smack-Daddy Ed Hayes in 40-44 and Butch Feitell topped Dan Krouse and Gregg Ziebell in 45-49.

Gracen Hayes won 10 & Under Girls Cruiser, Allie Couch did the same in 11-13, 14-17 girls cruiser. JRA Cycles Sally Mcinnis won 30-39 Woman’s Cruiser.

Photography by Jenna sponsored Amanda Wedge won the 8-9 Girls class, 10-11 action went to Katie-Rose Edgar, Christy Kestler won 14-15 and Allison Thomas won 16 & over.

In the 30 & over open wheels main event Randy Greco won the T/C Cycle hole shot award but could not hold off Jason Moriarity who took the win at the line.

The last main of the day was the 16-29 Open wheels class with 5 riders vying for the cash. Heading into the first turn it was Walter Dunn and Matt Markie side by side. Dunn was on the inside and as he started to turn, he totally washed out and came down hard on his shoulder shattering his collarbone. Markie cruised around the track for his fifth win in as many weeks and also won the T/C Cycle hole-shot award.