Race Report May 28th

Finally drawing a break in the weather after back-to-back rainouts, the skies were clear for today’s holiday event and another great turnout was enjoyed. 243 entries and 59 motos was a nice upgrade from the 180 riders and 49 motos here on Memorial Day weekend last year. In a nice gesture before racing started, Trevor Fox, sponsored this year by NAPA Tools & Equipment, gave away his 5 free race certificate to 8 year old Kobe Covington. Trevor earned the certificate by having perfect attendance last season. 7 new riders joined the growing number of new riders this year that now stands at an impressive 62 so far.

With a gate drop at 1:29 p.m., there seemed to be a festive personality to the crowd today and there was some great racing action in all classes. In girls action it was J-Lo (Julionna Olson) perfect in her four rider 6-7 girl’s class; Jessica Maher, sponsored by Video World Superstore, was perfect in 8-9 Girls; Amanda Wedge was also perfect in 10-11 Girls. Deanna Batista had it all her way in the 12-13 girls class while Bethany Beckwith and Jen Martinsen traded wins in the 14-15 girls class with New Yorks Beckwith grabbing the overall win. 16 & Over Girl action was very close between Cassy Scott and Danielle Jolicoeur with the Moore & Morrison Windows and Siding sponsored Jolicoeur winning two of three.

87 Rookie riders were rockin the house as were their new fans. In 5 & under competition Lane Maher, Matt Ganley and Skyler Elwood all had wins in their motos but in the main there was no stopping Sky Elwood. 11 six year olds were racing hard and Colby Hickey easily won his 3 motos while Justin Boissonneault and Owen Geise swapped wins in theirs. In the main event Hickey continued his dominance with the win. Dave Moody won the 7 year old rookie battle. In 8 rookie a hard fall in the third round ruined Stampede clothing’s Troy Atchinson’s bid for a perfect but in the main, Troy edged out Kyle Rose and Kobe Covington for the win. Fusco’s Auto Salvage rider Chris Pannullo and Mike Buonocore both were perfect in their motos but in the 9 year old rookie main Pannullo was today’s champ. Mike Valentine won the 10 year old rookie class but Dave Norris and Mike Castle each won motos in 11 year old action with Mike making it two of three for the win. Ryan Shores edged out James Oslander for the 12 year old rookie title and Jon Daversa was the king of the 13 rookie gang. 14 year old rookie Josh Sanford held off a tough group of riders for his win as did Kevin Mottai in 15 rookie. Celebrating his 16th birthday, Tim Bierce captured the overall win in his class. Carl Norris edged out Nick Fedeli in 17 rookie action.

In Novice racing it was Trevor Fox in the 8 year old division while Julian Lewis won the 9 year old class. The Main event in 13 novice went to Dave Clark, sponsored by HCC Performance Coatings. The 15 novice class saw ERA II’s Martin Brown capture the win. The 16 novice gang was alive with energy and the “Z-Man” Rob Zuffelato, Matt O’Connell and Zach Ritchie enjoyed moto wins. Matt won the main. Kevin Matthews worked hard to win his 17 novice class and Adriano De Assis won the 22-29 class.

A great turnout of experts were here and 10 ex Josh Thimmish set the pace with a perfect. Two evenly matched riders Kyle Block and Zach Andringa traded wins in the motos but 2 of three gave “The Animal” the overall. Zach Pirulli was the top 12 year old expert. 2 Massachusetts riders dominated the 13 ex class with Aggro Bikes Shaun O’Connor edging OFR’s Adam Hulse for the win. Anthony Del Vento won 14 ex. In 15 ex action Justin Markie and Ryan Cebollero were perfect in the motos but in the main it was the NEBMXNEWS.Com’s rider of the month Jonathan Barna coming out on top. J.P, McGuire Associates sponsored Ty Johnson won 16 ex. In 18-21 action Eric Larder was unstoppable as was Pete Lorenzo in 22-29 action. Chris DeAmelio easily won 35 & over.

Cruiser winners were Phil Hickey in 10-11; Zach Pirelli in 12-13; Don Olson in 22-29, 30-34 combined, JRA Cycles Brian Mcinnis in 40-44 action and Butch Feitel won 45-49 comp. In woman’s cruiser it was Sarah Shatkyvich besting Lori Markie.
Finally 17 riders were on hand in the 16 & Over open class. Trying to make the final 8 was some kind of task as the comp was intense for the transfer spots. Surviving a nasty crash that saw Matt Markie case the big jump coming out of turn two, slide down the landing ramp directly in the path of a hard charging Ty Johnson get slammed in the back and shoulder area hard enough to cause some medical attention. Matt would eventually transfer onto the main while Ty would have to sit and watch. When the last gate dropped it was Steve Oldham winning the Stampede Clothing hole shot award by ¼ of a tire. Close action all the way around it was Markie, hurting like crazy winning the main, Marc Sundstrom second and Jeremy Eickelberg third.